Heike Kamerlingh Onnes Prize goes to Bernhard Keimer

January 28, 2022

Bernhard Keimer will receive the prize named after Heike Kamerlingh Onnes (https://kamerlingh-onnes-prize.ch), the Dutch physicist who discovered superconductivity in 1911, at the M2S conference in Vancouver in July 2022 (https://www.m2s-2022.com). He will be recognized for "illuminating neutron and X-ray scattering experiments revealing resonant magnetic excitations and ordering phenomena in cuprate superconductors". Two co-awardees will also be recognized for scattering experiments on superconductors: Giacomo Ghiringhelli (Politecnico di Milano, Italy) and Pengcheng Dai (Rice University, USA). Hidenori Takagi, then at the University of Tokyo, received the Kamerlingh Onnes Prize in 2006 for "pioneering and seminal transport experiments which illuminated the unconventional nature of the metallic state of high temperature superconducting cuprates".

More information you can find here.

Go to Editor View