The European Research Council (ERC) is funding three MPGC PIs, Laura Classen, Claire Donnelly, and Niels Schröter with one of the highest recognitions for early career researchers in Europe more

The current MPGC-QM application window is OPEN! more

MPSD research group leader James McIver, who is also an Assistant Professor of Physics at Columbia University in New York, has been awarded the prestigious Early Career Award by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). more

Researchers at the Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research have achieved crucial advancements in the single-crystal synthesis of perovskite rare-earth nickelates, a quantum material known for its exceptional electronic and magnetic properties. Their efforts offer promising avenues for exploring new doping strategies this material class. more

An international team finds new single-crystalline oxide thin films with fast and dramatic changes in electrical properties via Li-ion intercalation through engineered ionic transport channels. more

The Condensed Matter Division of the European Physical Society awards its 2023 EPS Europhysics Prize to Claudia Felser, director at the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids in Dresden and B. Andrei Bernevig, professor of physics at Princeton University “for seminal contributions to the classification, prediction, and discovery of novel topological quantum materials”. more

Go to Editor View